Tony Allen – Film of Life (Deluxe Edition) (2014)



1. Moving On (6:40)
2. Boat Journey (4:46)
3. Tiger’s Skip (3:51)
4. Ewa (4:11)
5. Afo Kunffu Beat (6:09)
6. Koko Dance (6:38)
7. Go Back (feat. Damon Albarn) (5:37)
8. Ire Omo (feat. Adunni & Nefretiti) (5:06)
9. African Man (5:03)
10. Tony Wood (feat. KUKU) (6:04)

Deluxe Edition:
11. Na Bangui (feat. Sandra Nkake)(5:04)
12. Mojo (feat. Manu Dibango)(4:33)
13. Insider (Bonus Track) (5:06)

Legendary Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen presents his tenth album Film of Life, an album that has the ring of a true self-portrait, an overview of his rich and exemplary career that began alongside Fela Kuti in 1960s Lagos and has continued on to Allen’s recent collaborations with Damon Albarn in The Good, The Bad & The Queen and Rocket Juice & the Moon. Film of Life extends the parameters of Afrobeat, encompassing jazz and psychelic pop, from ‘African Man’ to ‘Afro Kung Fu Beat’ (the original version can be heard on the The Last King of Scotland soundtrack), from ‘Tiger Skip’ (featuring Damon Albarn on melodica) to Tonywood (recorded with the American-born Nigerian singer Kuku). A musician faithful to his roots, Tony is not afraid to take a stand, as in ‘The Boat Journey’, inspired by the recent struggles of exile. A theme echoed in ‘Go Back’, co-written and sung by Damon Albarn in the true spirit of the Philly sound. In harmony with the current renaissance of interest in Great Black Music, ‘Ire Omo’, ‘Mojo’ (with Manu Dibango on saxophone), ‘Koko Dance’ and ‘Insider’ are instantly recognisable as the work of a past master of the art.